Baltic Sea Hydrographic Commission Home IHO web site

About the Baltic Sea Hydrographic Commission (BSHC)

Chair: Captain Andzej Kowalski (Poland)
Vice-Chair: Mr. Patric Wiberg (Sweden)

Members: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Poland, Russian Federation, Sweden.
Associate Member: Lithuania

IHB Representatives:
Secretary-General Dr Mathias JONAS
Assistant Director David WYATT


Brief History

The BSHC was established in Helsinki, Finland, on 24-26 May 1983 following a recommendation made by the Hydrographers of the Baltic Sea at a preliminary meeting in Monaco on 19 April 1982. The original initiative came from Sweden and the first Chairman was Commodore Folke Hallbjörner (Sweden). The initial activities were to agree on the BSHC Statutes, to establish the Baltic Sea INT Chart Committee, to discuss the Baltic Sea bathymetric charts, the differences between Baltic Sea coordinate systems, the distribution of printed charts, limits of territorial seas, the Baltic Sea Radio Navigational Warning system, and the IHO technical assistance programme.

Liaison with IHO

The worldwide system of Regional Hydrographic Commissions (RHCs) coordinates hydrographic activity and cooperation at the regional level. The RHCs are made up of IHO Member States together with other regional States that wish to participate. RHCs work in close harmony with the IHO to help further its ideals and program. RHCs meet at regular intervals to discuss such things as mutual hydrographic and chart production problems, plan joint survey operations, and resolve schemes for medium and large scale International Chart coverage in their regions.

Denmark Estonia Finland Germany Latvia Poland Russia Sweden Lithuania

You are here: About

Copyright 2013–2019 Baltic Sea Hydrographic Commission