Baltic Sea Hydrographic Commission Home IHO web site

Baltic Sea Maritime Safety Information Working Group (BSMSIWG)


BSMSIWG Meetings

BSMSIWG1: May 26, 2020 - Online meeting via Skype

Meeting minutes

BSMSIWG2: November 27, 2020 - Online meeting via Skype

Meeting minutes
Attachment 1, Presentation S-124Project Team
Attachment 2, Tallinn Radio NAVTEX transmitter field strength measurements
Presentation of Navtex reception from Norderney in Germany
Femernbelt Tunnel Project Denmark - Germany

BSMSIWG3: Planned for May 2021. Online meeting.


BSMSIWG Members


Denmark

Danish Maritime Authority
Ulla Bjørndal Møller ubm@dma.dk

Estonia

Estonian Maritime Administration
Olavi Heinlo Olavi.Heinlo@vta.ee
Darja Jokk darja.jokk@vta.ee

Tallinn Radio, State Infocommunication Foundation (RIKS)
Aleksandr Laur aleksandr.laur@riks.ee
Jüri Grigorjev Juri.Grigorjev@riks.ee

Weather Service of Estonian Environment Agency
Taimi Paljak Taimi.Paljak@Envir.ee

Finland

Finnish Transport and Communications Agency Traficom
Janne Virtanen janne.virtanen@traficom.fi
Janina Tapia Cotrino janina.tapiacotrino@traficom.fi

Vessel Traffic Services Finland (VTS Finland)
Dan Lillberg dan.lillberg@vtsfinland.fi

Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI)
Marja Aarnio marja.aarnio@fmi.fi

Germany

Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH)
Elena Maria Gnehm ElenaMaria.Gnehm@bsh.de

Deutscher Wetterdienst
Wilfried Behncke Wilfried.Behncke@dwd.de
Carola Heitmann-Bacza Carola.Heitmann-Bacza@dwd.de
Thies Schlünzen thies.schluenzen@dwd.de

Generaldirektion Wasserstraßen und Schifffahrt
Henning Sauer Henning.Sauer@wsv.bund.de

Latvia

Hydrographic Service, Maritime Administration of Latvia
Bruno Spels (National Co-ordinator) bruno.spels@lhd.lv +371 26319865
Aigars Gailis (Substitute National Co-ordinator) aigars.gailis@lhd.lv +371 2649924

NAVTEX Live

Lithuania

Lithuanian Transport Safety Administration
Alla Bira alla.bira@ltsa.lrv.lt
Emilis Tertelis emilis.tertelis@ltsa.lrv.lt
Asta Lučkienė asta.luckiene@ltsa.lrv.lt

Norway

The Norwegian Coastal Administration
Trond Ski trond.ski@kystverket.no

Poland

Nautical Information Department (HOPN)
Dariusz Grabiec d.grabiec@ron.mil.pl
Dariusz Tomczak dar.tomczak@ron.mil.pl

Maritime Office in Szczecin Marine Hydrographic Department
Andrzej Dołgopołow adolgopolow@ums.gov.pl

Russia

Department of Navigation and Oceanography, Ministry of Defence
No registered members unio@mil.ru
N/A unio_main@mil.ru
N/A unio_navarea@mil.ru

State Reseach Navigation- Hydrographic Institute
No registered member svr@gningi.ru

State administration of seaports of the Baltic Sea
No registered member lakunin@mail.pasp.ru

Sweden

Swedish Maritime Administration (SMA)
Johan von Bültzingslöwen (National and Baltic Sea Coordinator) johan.bultzingslowen@sjofartsverket.se
Agneta Hedström agneta.hedstrom@Sjofartsverket.se

Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute (SMHI)
Lisa Lind lisa.lind@smhi.se
Mats Johansson mats.johansson@smhi.se
Sandra Fyrstedt sandra.fyrstedt@smhi.se

The United Kingdom

The United Kingdom Hydrographic Office
Murdo MacDonald (Navarea I Coordinator) murdo.macdonald@UKHO.gov.uk
Matthew Sheldon (Deputy Navarea I Coordinator) matthew.sheldon@UKHO.gov.uk
Neil Salter (Chair of the IMO Navtex Co-ordinating Panel) Neil.Salter@UKHO.gov.uk
Christopher Gill (Secretary of the IMO Navtex Co-ordinating Panel) Christopher.Gill@UKHO.gov.uk


The Working Group should

The Working Group should report to the BSHC Conferences.

Terms of Reference

a) To facilitate that the GMDSS MSI services in the Sub-area are arranged in compliance with the regulations and recommendations set up in the documents stated under 1 e).

b) To facilitate cooperation concerning technical and administrative matters related to the MSI service.

c) To facilitate the exchange of information about events that could affect safety at sea within the Sub-area.

d) To facilitate the exchange of advice concerning all aspects of daily MSI work.

e) To facilitate harmonization of new and existing methods that make MSI and other relevant information to shipping available by means other than GMDSS.

f) To evaluate and compile views on new and changed methods of providing MSI and to forward these to the relevant body.

g) To exchange information about major planned operations at sea that are expected to affect international shipping in coastal waters of neighboring countries.

h) To discuss and summarize the Sub-area’s common views and suggestions for changes to the documents mentioned under 1 e), to be forwarded to WWNWS-SC by Sweden.


Rules of Procedures

a) Membership is open to member states and associate member states of the BSHC. Each member state shall be represented by governmental organizations dealing with MSI and/or other relevant information to shipping. The National Coordinator of Norway, the Navarea One Coordinator, the IMO Navtex Coordinating panel and other relevant official international bodies could also be invited to the BSMSIWG meetings and may be consulted through correspondence.

b) Non-governmental organizations may attend meetings wholly or to the extent decided by the chair.

c) BSMSIWG meetings should be held every second year.

d) In the time between BSMSIWG meetings, the group should work through correspondence.

e) At the end of a BSMSIWG meeting, the host and the approximate time for the next meeting should be decided.

f) The chair and the coming host nation decide who shall be the point of contact regarding the coming meeting.

g) A preliminary invitation, including meeting dates and place, should be sent out by e-mail approximately one year before each meeting.

h) The final invitation, including logistic information, a first draft agenda, a request for additional agenda items, a national report, and other papers, should be distributed not later than half a year before the meeting.

i) A national report and other papers should be sent to the Sub-area coordinator and to the host nation not later than six weeks before the meeting. All documents should be published by the chair on the BSHC website, www.bshc.pro

j) The BSMSIWG chair should be proposed by the WG and thereafter elected by the BSHC conference. The secretary should be elected by the WG.

k) The agenda should be adopted at the beginning of the meeting.

l) Decisions should be made through consensus among the nine BSHC Member States (1b).

m) Decisions and agreed upon actions made during the meeting should be summarized at the end of the meeting and included as an annex to the minutes.

n) The draft minutes shall be distributed within six weeks of the meeting’s conclusion. Comments should be returned no later than three weeks after the distribution of the draft minutes. Final minutes should be distributed and posted on the BSHC website within three months of a meeting.

o) The continued existence of BSMSIWG and the Terms of Reference shall be a standing point on the agenda. Any suggestions for changes should be addressed by the chair of the working group to the chairman of the following BSHC conference.


Useful links

IHO-Manual on Maritime Safety Information (S-53)
Baltic Sea Navtex map
S-100 Introduction
WWNWS- World Wide Navigational Warning Service
S-124 Project team


BSHC Meetings

IHO website with meeting documents


BALTICO Meetings

2018 meeting - Summary Report
BALTICO Meeting, link to old working group page
Baltic Sea MSIWG to supersede the BALTICO meetings

You are here: Working Groups BSMSIWG

Copyright 2013–2021 Baltic Sea Hydrographic Commission