Baltic Sea Hydrographic Commission Home

BSHC Chart Datum Working Group

"To implement a common reference level in the Baltic Sea"

CDWG10 Photo: Chart Datum Working Group 10th meeting, 7-8 February 2018, Arkö, Sweden

Terms of Reference

(5 April 2017)

(Approved by BSHC22nd conference, September 2017)

The BSHC18 (September 2013) decided to continue CDWG work and wished the harmonized Baltic Sea vertical reference to be implemented.

The Working Group should

  1. To continue implementation of the EVRS.
  2. To prepare the road map for transition, including e.g:
    • to establish a network of relevant bodies involved into the transition and efficiently communicate and give guidance within this network
    • to invite relevant bodies to inform the users
    • to review of progress of national plans and actions
    • to propose harmonization actions
  3. To cooperate with relevant bodies on water level related issues e.g:
    • to promote studies on the validation, status and distribution of water level information, and to promote studies on interpolation and prediction of water levels
    • to promote studies on displaying schemes for joint Baltic Sea water level information
    • to promote studies on recommendations to IHO how the sea level and its variations should be shown on nautical paper and ENC charts and publications, and conveying water level information to mariners [ref. IHO Technical Resolutions].
  4. To further development of a common harmonized height reference, including further development of a common geoid model for the whole Baltic Sea area and supporting geoid and oceanographic studies relevant to these purposes.
  5. To cooperate with BOOS and other relevant international bodies
  6. To liaise with relevant IHO bodies.

The Working Group should report to the BSHC Conferences.


Member States

Dr Joanna Gerlings
Mr Philip Sigaard Christiansen
Mrs Gabriela Kotsulim
Mr Jyrki Mononen
Dr Patrick Westfeld
Mr Armands Murans
Mr Mindaugas Zakarauskas
Cdr Sławomir Lipiński
Lt Cdr Marcin Banaszak
Capt S.Travin
Dr Sergey V. Reshetniak
Mr Leonid Shalnov
Mr Thomas Hammarklint (Chair)
Mr Lars Jakobsson
Mr Henrik Tengbert

Representative of BOOS

Mr Thomas Hammarklint


Mrs Mirjam Bilker-Koivula
Mrs Katri Leinonen
Dr Gunter Liebsch
Mr Aksel Voldsund
Dr Martin Lidberg
Dr Jonas Ågren
Dr Per-Anders Olsson
Mr Mikael Stenström

Member list as PDF document


CDWG 10th meeting, 7-8 February 2018, Arkö, Sweden

CDWG 9th meeting, 4-5 April 2017, Rostock, Germany

CDWG 8th meeting, 23-24 February 2016, Helsinki, Finland


BOOS products related to CDWG actions

You are here: Working Groups CDWG

Copyright 2013–2018 Baltic Sea Hydrographic Commission